Follow us on social media

News Latest Sports News
17FebNo Comments
Irish Indoor Cricket Champions
David Flynn February 17, 2015

Irish Indoor Cricket Champions

Ulster University were crowned Irish indoor champions after a convincing win over holders Cork in the final at Jordanstown.

The Northern side amassed 110 for 5 in their 10 overs in the decider, with Jamie Millar times two, scoring the bulk of their runs in the final.

Eglinton all-rounder Jamie W Millar hit a breezy 34 before retiring, while Drummond’s Jamie P Millar scored 21. Skipper Matthew McCord chipped in with 25 and Stephen Kennedy 19 in an impressive batting display.

Shahrukh Baig (3-31) was the pick of the Munster attack. Cork never threatened to chase down the total despite an entertaining 30 from top scorer Mohammed Qassim. Cork suffered four run outs with the Millars again to the fore, as they finished 55 all out – exactly half of the Ulster total.

In the semi-finals Ulster had defeated NUI Galway by an emphatic four wickets. Waqar-Ul-Hassan had top scored with 32 in Galway’s total of 81 for 4, but Stephen Kennedy hit 25 in the routine win. The other semi-final was a thrilling affair with Cork edging out IT Carlow by just one run. Junaid Amin (25), Sharukh Nawas (24) and Mohammed Qassim (21) were all among the runs as Cork scored 96 for 4 in their allotted overs.

It didn’t look enough as Rachit Gaur (39) and Usama Raees (28) took Carlow to the brink of victory, however Junaid Amin’s 3 for 23 sealed the one run win in the most dramatic of circumstances.

Ulster University skipper Matthew McCord received the trophy from Philip Carson of the Irish Universities Cricket Association following a wonderful three days cricket, and paid tribute to both his team and the organisers for a superb event played in a wonderful spirit throughout.